Yesterday

I felt like I was dying.

It was hockey trials. It was over 30 degrees and it was a full length mixed match. Basically was playing with men, except for the 4 other girls on the field.

We were all feeling pretty buggered. The heat was taking a lot out of us, and us girls were pushing ourselves a lot harder to bring us up to the men’s level and speed.

I took a nasty hit to the head in a tackle by a guy – my neck went out straight away. I hastily pushed it back into place and charged after him to get the ball back – didn’t think much of it at the time.

Drank lots of fluids and was drenched in sun screen but still, in hindsight it didn’t seem to help that much.

I left and drove home feeling quite ill. I couldn’t get out of my car for about 40 minutes because i couldn’t walk. I vomited multiple times outside the front of my house in an attempt to reach the front door and my phone. It was bright blue and chunky from the few jellybeans I had consumed post game to put some more sugar in my body.

I stumbled inside, tried calling my nurse friend who lives round the corner (voice mail), before throwing up all in the bath. Literally crawled into bed, grabbed some water and lay there. Tried calling my brother. No answer – contemplated 911. Eventually got hold of him an hour later. He was a 40 minute drive away. The vomiting continues. I am freezing cold. My head wants to explode and I want to wrench it off my shoulders.

So this is what concussion and heat stroke at the same time feel like. I was in this state for 6 hours, vomiting bucketloads and an insane painful head, and being freezing cold, even though I was under two very thick blankets. I was mostly alone for the entire time – Greg popped in for a bit before going ten pin bowling with friends.

I still feel kind of week now, and it’s the morning after. This added to me attempting to get over my glandular fever just confirms that right now my life is pretty shit.

Leave a Reply

