Time Occupiers

So I offered my skills and services to the sporting industry. Every week I coach two teenage sports teams.

Girls Touch Rugby and Boys Super 8 Cricket.

My Touch Team is actually good. They just sometimes get panicky near the try line.
Our last two matches have been really close.
I’m predicting a win next week.

My cricket team lost by two runs last week (they should have won, and were winning, but got out on the last ball – which means they lost three runs, thus losing by two. )
Yesterday however they got THRASHED. It could have been the heat (40 degrees) but really it was because the other team had many skilled cricketers in their team, and their field setup was impeccable.
My whole team got to chow down on some free ice creams just before the game which they lapped up eagerly.
Was kinda embarrassing though when our captain went to do the toss, and had an ice cream mustache on.

Did I mention how much I love umpiring both said sports in 40 degree heat?
Well I am now, with a heavy veil of sarcasm.

Kids are loving it though. One of my cricket boys yesterday asked if he could give me away at my wedding.
A) Not getting married any time soon
B) No boyfriend
C) That’s my dad’s job.

So he’s settled for the position of altar boy, as long as the flower girl is hot (which he later changed to has personality).
I love my boys.

In other news, my hockey trials are in two weeks time.
I’ve been out with a calf injury for two weeks today, and I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to start running/training again.
I’m just going to have to push myself, so I can have some of my fitness back, and make a top league team.

So much pressure, and to think I was doing so well before this injury.

Leave a Reply

