First Training Back

So it’s been six weeks since I pulled my right calf during a 4km daily run.

I finally got the clear from my sports physio and tonight was going to be the first time I would try to run, and my first session back at hockey training.

Getting there was interesting enough.
The aftermath of “The Storm”, saw me leaving home earlier than usual to account for traffic lights not working. They weren’t, and I managed to still arrive a little early.

The field was so strange to look at. Most of the trees were leafless.
The field was covered in bright green leaves of every shape and size. There was so many broken branches lying everywhere.

We went for our warm up run round the double oval, having to hop over branches and wade through thick layers of leaves.
It felt so surreal, and was so quiet – like something devastating was about to happen.

As the sun setting was illuminated across the river and the freeway, we noticed that the field wasn’t getting any brighter.
Turns out our floodlights got damaged by the storm.

So we had to modify our training severely and try and move to a tiny patch of ground which had some secondary light from the golf course across the road. We were battling as it was, to try and stop the balls, see the balls and not get hit by said balls, as well as not trip over leaves and branches.

Then the golf club switched off their lights.

End of training.
Lots of new faces. I don’t know any of the new people’s names yet.

My calf is looking good though, and my dodge toe seemed to hold up (after a trip to the doctor and a hit of liquid nitrogen).

Leave a Reply

