The Underdogs

It was a freezing cold Saturday night, and we (Wasps Ladies Premier Alliance) were scheduled to play a tough match against the current league leaders UWA at 8:30pm.

Seriously… what a way to spend a Saturday night! As if that wasn’t bad enough, it was the evening of our club social, which started at 7. Hopefully it would still be going, once we had finished.

With our regular coach Jooce in South Africa working for Guiness at the World Cup, our bootcamp fitness coach, Boxy, stepped up for his first match as coach for the season. His inspiring words for us were

“It’s freezing, it’s a saturday night, we didn’t come here to f**king lose”

We knew that UWA would be fast and fit. We knew we were embarking on a battle.
We went down a goal in the first ten minutes. It was really unlucky, however we didn’t lose heart. We kept our heads up, and managed to make sure that was the only thing that would find the back of the box for that half.

We tackled hard, we talked loudly and made some hard yards.
Meanwhile we were getting egged on by my rent a crowd, John and Sarah, who had chosen this icey cold night to support us.
So with wine in their bellies to warm them up, they got rowdier and rowdier as the game progressed.

Second half was just as tough as the first one, and we still held strong.
We had begun chanting,

“Can the Wasps Win? YES WE CAN!”
to the tune of Bob the Builder.

We were itching for it.

With 15 minutes to the end of the match we finally equalised with them. It was magnificent. Now we really were in with a chance.
With a new bounce in our step, we pushed.
We found energy we didn’t think we had. We ran faster, tackled harder, yelled louder.

We wanted this.

2 minutes to go, there was a fumble in the midfield. Tash was under pressure and made a desperate attempt to get the ball to me, where I was standing just short of the half way mark.

I knew I only had one person behind me, and I saw 3 UWA players charging in my direction.
I was in a tight spot, and my thought was, don’t let them get the ball, because then they’d score.

I saw a gap up ahead, and did a hard strong pass, straight through it, and it was heading straight for the goals.
It travelled almost hald the field, where our centre forward sniffed it with her stick, claiming the deflection and hearing the thud of the ball in the back of the goals.

We’d scored, with 2 minutes to spare, against all odds.

We hugged, we high fived, we celebrated, we screamed in delight, and then we focused on protecting our lead for the duration of the game, which we did.

What a win! What an achievement!

We headed back to the club elated, and ready to celebrate, where we found our boys already drunk and keen to go out.
So I got dragged out by ten boys into the city, being the only girl to have a goodnight out.

Between you and me, things got hectic.

So many fines are going to be processed, and I’m making sure I avoid certain boys when they have been drinking, unless I’m looking for the hookup.

We left the city about 5ish, and i was to drop one of them off at his home, where I got held hostage in my car for an hour and a half. He was trying to get personal information out of me, but I was stubborn. He then was trying to get me inside his house to “spoon”. Again I was stubborn.
Eventually his bladder made him retreat and I could head home, at an unpleasant 7:30am. I had seen the sun rise.

Oh what a night!


The boys warming up, at the club, before hitting the city

Leave a Reply

