Giving Back.

So, some of you may know that I have been playing sport competitively since I was 6. In my “career”, I have had a multitude of coaches and managers.
People who have selflessly given up their time to develop and input into the lives of those younger. True Local Heroes.
Until recently, I have only been coaching sports at school (Year 8 and 9 boys; Year 11/12 Girls and Boys), as well as running a two surf clubs – one school based, and one open to the general public.

However recently I have volunteered my services with club hockey. At the moment, I’m the person who takes the turf training when the regular coaches have work commitments, and I get to take the 7/8 girls and the 11/12 girls.. which is pretty fun, plus I love turf.
Next year it looks like I’ll have my own permanent team, probably the 9/10 girls.

I have however applied for a state managerial role for an upcoming tour, which would be awesome if I got, as I will get to travel to Darwin, a place in Australia I have yet to travel to. It might however clash with a planned end of season trip to Bali, with the boys from Wasps – a place I have also yet to travel to.

Meanwhile, I have also applied for a leadership position in the house system at school. They’ve never had houses before, and it starts this term, and I’m in the running. Would be an excellent opportunity.

Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

